Public Release: 

Biophysical Society announces 2017 New and Notable Symposium speakers

Biophysical Society

The Biophysical Society has announced the speakers for the New and Notable Symposium at the Society's 61st Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. The New and Notable Symposium highlights the latest and most exciting discoveries in biophysics. Speakers are nominated by the Society's membership and selected by the Program Committee two months before the meeting. The session will take place on Sunday, February 12, at 10:45 AM at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. The session will be co-chaired by Catherine A. Royer, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, and David W. Piston, Washington University, St. Louis, the program chairs for the 2017 meeting.

The speakers and their presentation titles are listed below.

Lucy Brennan, Cornell University
DNA Looping Mediates Nucleosome Transfer

Jue Chen, Rockefeller University
Atomic Structure of the Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane Conductance Regulator

Michael Feig, Michigan State University
Connecting Atomistic to Cellular Scales in Computer Simulations of a Bacterial Cytoplasm

Aaron Hoskins, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Single Molecule Insights into the Assembly and Catalytic Activation of Spliceosomes

Tanuj Sapra, Biochemisches Institut, Universität Zürich
Resolving the Structural Mechanics of Nuclear Intermediate Filaments In Situ Using a Correlative AFM and Cryo-EM Approach

Bonnie Wallace, Birkbeck College, University of London
A Newly-Identified Interaction Motif Associated with Gating in Voltage-gated Sodium Channels


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.